9MM, 10MM, 22RIMFIRE, 357 MAGNUM, 380, 40 S&W, 44 MAGNUM, 7.62X54R, 6.5 CREEDMOOR, .308 WINCHESTER
What is the process for purchasing a firearm in California?
Generally, all firearms purchases and transfers, including private party transactions and sales at gun shows, must be made through a California licensed dealer under the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) process. California law imposes a 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a purchaser or transferee.
What is the Firearm Safety Certificate requirement?
Prior to the submission of Dealer Record of Sale for a firearm, the purchaser must present an Firearm Safety Certificate or provide the dealer with proof of exemption pursuant to California Penal Code section 31700.
How do I get a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)?
To obtain a Firearm Safety Certificate you must score at least 75% (23 correct answers out of 30 questions) on the FSC Test covering firearm safety and basic firearms laws. The true/false and multiple choice test is administered by Instructors certified by the Department of Justice who are generally located at firearms dealerships.
Is there a limit on the number of handguns that I can own or purchase?
There is no limit to the number of handguns that you may own but you are generally limited to purchasing no more than one handgun in any 30-day period. Handgun transactions related to law enforcement, private party transfers, returns to owners, and certain other specific circumstances are exempt from the one-handgun-per-30-day purchase limit.
Does California have a law regarding the storage of firearms?
Yes. If you keep any loaded firearm within any premise which is under your custody or control and know or reasonably should know that a child (person under 18 years of age) is likely to gain access to the firearm, you may be guilty of a felony if a child gains access to that firearm and thereby causes death or injury to any person including themselves unless the firearm was in a secure locked container or locked with a locking device that rendered it inoperable.
May I carry a concealed firearm in California?
Generally you may not carry a concealed firearm on your person in public unless you have a valid Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license. CCW licenses are issued only by a California county sheriff to residents of the county, or the chief of police to residents of the city. California law does not honor or recognize CCW licenses issued outside this state.
Who is prohibited from owning or possessing firearms?
Any person who has a conviction for any misdemeanor listed in Penal Code section 29805 or for any felony, or is addicted to the use of any narcotic drug, or has been held involuntarily as a danger to self or others pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code section 8103 is prohibited from buying, owning, or possessing firearms or ammunition. There are also prohibitions based on mental conditions, domestic restraining/protective orders, conditions of probation, and specific offenses committed as a juvenile. A list of prohibited categories is available on the Bureau of Firearms website.
We love our customers, so feel free to visit during normal business hours.
63 South Washington Street, Sonora, California 95370, United States
09:00 am – 06:00 pm
Copyright © 2020-2022+ SierraOutdoorOutfitter.com - All Rights Reserved.